New York Fashion Week: Men’s diaries, part two


Early morning, and I was off to Skylight Studios. Not wanting to be late, I left early but was still stuck in morning traffic/construction. Arriving there, I knew I’d feel out of place. This wasn’t my milieu.  I didn’t know anyone and everyone seemed to have a degree of “fame” via social media; I was just an unknown, underdressed editor.

But, all of came to pass when I met Everett Williams (the first major influencer who started following me on Instagram). Trying not to go all fangirl on him, I quickly realized that not only was he just as cute in person, but also a nice guy. That small, welcoming gesture put me at ease.  Notifying me that not all shows start on time, I say my goodbyes and run off to my first show: Duckie Brown.

duckie brown fall 2016

Being told to move a dozen times by the production team due to being in the view of the photographer’s line of sight, the show started.  It was the epitome of concise. The six looks removed the frills of previous seasons (sometimes, quite literally), and the separates – mostly in black and white – encompassed slightly oversized silhouettes that, although slouchy on rail thin models, would look great across a range of men’s body shapes.

nautica fw 2016 front row

Quickly escaping the street style photographers outside the venue, I made my way back uptown for lunch, met with my writer friend, and went back downtown for the Nautica show. The lineup to get in was long, but I had an assigned seat (my writer friend texts me to say I’ve made it since I wasn’t in “priority standing”).

The show couldn’t start until the front row celebrities – actors Chase Crawford and Colin Egglesfield, and models Ollie Edwards and Johannes Huebl – sat down. With a collection that was “inspired by the sea, designed in the city,” fall focused on a series of desirable, streamlined outerwear (naval coats and padded vests), intarsia knits and long scarves (practically dragging behind the models), and lots of white, navy and gray (with a nice hit of red and yellow). Luckily, the guests were in for a treat as there were several top models on display, like Chad White and Wooter Peelen.

nautica fall 2016

After the show, I introduced myself to style expert Preston Conrad and his friend (it’s always great to see people in person rather than a cell phone screen) and hung out with – even if for a few minutes – male supermodel Sean O’Pry after my writer friend pushed me to go up to him. (It should be noted that Sean was more than generous with his time especially after being hounded by fans and photographers just minutes before.)

Knowing we weren’t going to get a cab or Uber ride to SoHo to hit the Zachary Prell presentation, my writer friend and I decide to stroll over since we had an extra hour to kill. With dusk upon us, it wasn’t as easy to find… until we spotted a line-up of people waiting outside.

We signed in, took the elevator up a few floors, and were welcomed with bourbon and bubbly. Not a bad way to greet guests. The model casting was on point (including Versace star, Nathaniel Visser, and Roberto Sipos of the Perry Ellis campaign) as they wore classic separates in a range of jewel tones. My writer friend asked me what I thought of the clothes and I told her I’d wear every single piece; from the fine knitwear to the great-fitting trousers. She agreed and said she could see me wear them, too.

zachary prell fall 2016

Within the crowd, I was able to chat with influential style director, Gregory Wein, and journalist, Pedro Andrade (who gave me a few restaurant suggestions while I was in the city) and had one last glass of bubbly before heading out. The next presentation would be a treat: John Varvatos. But, that’s another diary entry for another day.

– Steven @theediteur

