Every Rose Has Its Thorne – Bella Thorne By Aleksandar Tomovic For Bello Mag Young Hollywood Issue


Featured in Bello Mag #53 December 2013 Young Hollywood Issue.

1

First thing’s first: we did not include the lovely and talented Bella Thorne in our final issue of 2013 simply because she happens to share a similar name with this very magazine. It’s just a magical coincidence, much like her breakthrough role in Disney’s Shake It Up, a title that could also refer to her upcoming year. This Florida native is prepping to drop an album, release several movies (hello, Adam Sandler), pen her first novel, and set aside some time to be charitable. And the just-turned-16-year-old doesn’t plan on slowing down anytime soon. What are YOU doing with your life?

Photography Aleksandar Tomovic
Art Direction Amanda Elkins
Fashion Director Warren Alfie Baker
Styling Alexandra Mandelkorn
Hair Castillo
MakeUp Tonya Brewer
using Givenchy, YSL and MAC.
Production Leslie Alejandro
Words by Hiko Mitsuzuka
Special Thanks L’Cheriyve Studio

03

What do you miss most about Shake It Up?

I will miss the comfort and security of my Disney family. I will miss knowing that my extended family is only a call away. I will miss the dances, laughs and love that we all shared.

Can you tell us anything about the album you’re working on? What’s the vibe you’re going for?

My album will have various sounds on it…the final selection still hasn’t been made, but it will be fun and something you can dance to. Something that will instantly lift your spirits.

And then you’re playing Adam Sandler’s daughter in next year’s Blended. How does one prepare to play alongside such a comedy icon?

You know, I was really nervous and intimidated at the thought, but when you are around Adam, his down-to-earth and humble energy erases all your fears, and you just go with it. He’s incredibly charming, dedicated and easy going.

Not only that, you’re also writing your first novel, Autumn Falls. What has the writing process been like for you?

It has been fun and challenging. The fun part is character development and ideas, and the tough part is the time it takes. I think everyone will be delighted by the results. It will come out later in 2014.

What’s one holiday tradition you’ll never give up?

We have a tradition of feeding the homeless that has been part of our lives since I can remember. It is something important to me and my family, and I know that it’ll be with me for a lifetime.

What else is on the 2014 forecast for you? Any goals?

Beyond the four films, album and novel coming out, I will continue to audition and read for directors. I will also become more involved in fashion and there may be something that’ll be announced soon that will bring in my Latin heritage and fashion (wink). There are some other things pending that I can’t discuss at the moment. It’s going to be a BIG year!

06a

06

05a

05

03a

01a

BELLA ON THE SIDE:

– The last time you cried:
Today.

– Favorite film of 2013:
About Time.

– Starbucks, Coffee Bean, or Peet’s?
Starbucks.

– One Direction or The Wanted?
One Direction.

– Last time you were starstruck:
When I met J. J. Abrams!

– Weirdest tweet you ever received:
I get so many! I can’t even answer that.

– Are you a Katy, Gaga…or a Miley?
I’m more like Katy but loving Miley’s new music.

02

Fashion List:

DKNY
HOUSE OF HOLLAND
HIGHS FALKE
YRU
BAUBLE BAR
CHEAP MONDAY
TOP AGAIN
DORA ABODI
REBECCA MINKOFF
ANIELLE QUELLER
OLIMA
JMC
LANA JEWELRY
JILL HABER
AGAIN
DORA ABODI
BUDDHA TO BUDDHA
ERICKSON BEAMON ROCKS

This fashion story + Interview from Bello Mag Issue #53 with Bella Thorne is available to purchase worldwide on iTunes Newsstand for iPad and iPhone.

08

