BELLO interview Steven R. McQueen


Steven R. McQueen’s passion, originality and engaging demeanor have helped him propel his career in Hollywood as a reputable and versatile actor. McQueen currently stars as ‘Jeremy Gilbert’ in the CW’s hit drama, “The Vampire Diaries”. McQueen’s other Television credits include: “Everwood,” the Disney Channel movie, “Minutemen,” “CSI: Miami,” “Without a Trace,” “Numbers” and “Threshold.” On the big screen, McQueen appeared in the independent film CLUB SODA for which he won the Beverly Hills Film Festival Audience Award for Best Actor. He also starred alongside Elizabeth Shue and Jerry O’Connell in the Weinstein Company’s cult phenomenon PIRANHA 3-D last summer.

Born and raised in Los Angeles, California, McQueen is the grandson of actor Steve McQueen. Currently, he lives in Atlanta, Georgia, for the filming of “The Vampire Diaries.” But it is in Los Angeles that BELLO mag editor in chief Aleksandar Tomovic got to photograph McQueen and ask him some interesting questions, prepared by entertainment editr Darion Lowenstein.

Interview was originally published in BELLO mag #31 (available on APP STORE). Steven R. McQueen was the cover of that issue. All photography by Aleksandar Tomovic http://www.alekandsteph.com

You were born in Los Angeles and live there except when filming – have you ever had the desire to live elsewhere?
I have moved around a lot. Lived a lot of different places but Los Angeles will always be home to me. 

With your family’s history of acting, did you feel pressured to pursue another career?
I never felt pressured to pursue acting. I reached a certain age and thought that I would just give it a shot. Once I began doing it I really enjoyed it. From that point on, I became addicted. 

If you weren’t an actor, what would you be doing?
If I wasn’t acting I couldn’t tell you what I would be doing. I found this whole crazy world when I didn’t know what I wanted from my life or who I wanted to be. Eventually I would like to get behind the camera though. 

You spend a lot of time filming Vampire Diaries in Atlanta. What do you like about that city?
Atlanta is a great city. It has inspired a lot of great music. 

I hear you are a great singer and guitar player! Any thoughts of working on album?
An album? Probably not right now. Music for me is a lot of fun. My little bro is a very talented musician though. 

Your character, Jeremy, on Vampire Diaries has gone through a lot of changes since the first episode. What episodes have been your favorite to work on?
Jeremy is a fun character to play. He started at a place of such weakness so to experience Jeremy pulling himself out of this hole, slowly but surely, has been interesting. 

What would your dream role be?
My dream role is each and every role. Its always fun to slip into a different state of mind. It’s fun reaching into your self and pulling out someone new. 

photography Aleksandar Tomovic
http://www.ALEKandSTEPH.com

fashion editor Warren Alfie Baker
http://www.warrenalfiebaker.com

beauty editor Leslie Alejandro
http://www.lesliealejandro.com

digital mastering Martin Gonzalez
http://www.martingonzalezretoucher.com

video Luis Gomez

